Mission team leader training offered in April

0
431

By Ronda Cordill

As we move into the post-Covid time, United Methodist Volunteers in Mission (UMVIM) teams are starting to reconnect with their mission sites or find new places to explore and serve those in need both domestically and internationally. UMVIM is one way to put your Christian faith into action by organizing and leading a mission team.  Mission teams address all kinds of needs in our world-disaster recovery, including medical, immigration issues, education, and many others. The possibilities are countless.

To help prepare you to lead a mission team, join us on Saturday, April 22, for the next Team Leader Training. This will be virtual from 9 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. PDT/ 10 a.m. -2:30 p.m. MDT/ 8 a.m. – 12:30 AK. You will learn about the mission lifecycle from planning through returning home, including the nuts and bolts of leading a team, why we serve, cultural aspects, health and safety concerns, resources, and more.

For team leaders who have already been trained, there is a Team Leader Training Refresher on April 13th from 6 to 8 p.m. PDT/7 to 9 p.m. MDT/ 5 to 7 p.m. AK. This will include a brief review of the UMVIM Team Leader Training, updates on resources, insurance, and other team requirements, and a question-and-answer period.

These trainings will be led by Ronda Cordill, Western Jurisdiction UMVIM Coordinator, and various Annual Conference UMVIM Coordinators.  

To register for the Team Leader Training on April 22nd go to https://forms.gle/qNSUPS6Zik6fgGjMA

To register for the Team Leader Training Refresher on April 13th go to https://forms.gle/YbKQ6K4qvJYNaS91A  

For more information, contact Ronda Cordill at umvimwj@gmail.com.

Previous articleNamaste
Next articleFirst UMC Canada grows through Filipino leadership, immigrant community connections

Leave a Reply