Blue Christmas Service

Sunday, December 20th, 2020 at 5 PM MST, 4 PM PST, 3 PM AKST

This Advent and Christmas are like no other in recent memory. Many of us are having difficulty getting into the spirit of the season and fully embracing its joyous and celebrative tenor. Because of this, members of the Greater Northwest Area Cabinet will offer a Blue Christmas Service, available on this webpage on Sunday, December 20, 2020, at 5 PM MST, 4 PM PST, 3 PM AKST.

You Are Invited

All United Methodists in the Greater Northwest Area are invited to join us for this time of reflection. The service will remain available on this page for use after it’s original posting on December 20.


Blue Christmas helps us to acknowledge the longest night of the year for the northern hemisphere with a growing number of churches holding worshipful space for those experiencing grief, loss, or the absence of joy. It is believed to have originated in the hospice community in 1980s British Columbia, before its adoption by Christian faith communities in the 1990s.

To help you participate in the service you might want to have on hand the following items. The service should be meaningful without them:

  • An Advent Wreath or four candles and a way to light them
  • An additional candle to light as a memory candle
  • A few star cut-outs and a pen to write on the stars (Examples)
  • A United Methodist Hymnal or the words to the Carols: “O Little Town of Bethlehem,” “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” verses 1, 2, 6, and 7, “Away in a Manger,” and “Silent Night”
greaternw-map

Our Address

Office of the Bishop 816 S 216th #2 (Street Address) PO Box 13650 (Mailing Address) Des Moines, WA 98198-1009
© Copyright 2019, Greater Northwest Episcopal Area. All Rights Reserved.